English: 'Let me Persuade You'

You are to select one issue from the choices on this page:

Each box includes weblinks to articles including background information and general information about your chosen topic.

We recommend using the online database :  Australia & NZ points of view  (ask your teacher for the username and password to access)

This database is excellent and includes the following:

• Background information
• Glossary of Key terms
• Links to newspaper articles 
• Links to journal articles with lexile level
• includes a link to an argument and counter argument
• includes a 'how to' guide to researching and responding to your argument. 
• Ability to listen to information in audio format 

Online resources (Echo ed, Newscan, Australia/NZ Reference Centre and Australia/NZ points of view)

We recommend using the online database :  Australia & NZ points of view  (ask your teacher for the username and password to access)

Websites

CSIRO
Hype or fear the AI debate examined

The Guardian
Rise of artificial intelligence is inevitable but should not be feared 'father of AI' says

Business Insider
These are the three biggest fears about AI - and here's how worried you should be about them
Bibliography help

Online resources (Echo ed, Newscan, Australia/NZ Reference Centre)

We recommend using the online database :  Australia & NZ points of view  (ask your teacher for the username and password to access)

Websites

Animals Australia
4 things we need to stop telling ourselves about animals in zoos

PETA Australia
Animals in zoos: condemned to a life behind bars

Perth Zoo (article)
Let's rethink the zoo

The Guardian
From cage to conservation: the reinvention of Australian zoos

Bibliography help

Online resources (Echo ed, Newscan, Australia/NZ Reference Centre and Australia/NZ points of view)

We recommend using the online database :  Australia & NZ points of view  (ask your teacher for the username and password to access)

Websites

Foodsafety
So which is better caged or free range eggs?

NSW Farmer's Federation
Inside the caged-egg vs free-range debate

RSPCA Australia
The real deal on cage eggs and layer hen welfare

CHOICE
Are your eggs really free range?

Bibliography help

Online resources (Echo ed, Newscan, Australia/NZ Reference Centre and Australia/NZ points of view)

We recommend using the online database :  Australia & NZ points of view  (ask your teacher for the username and password to access)

Websites

SBS News
Australian students seem to be losing interest in languages. Should we all be worried?

ABC
Is your kid Studying a second language at school? How much they learn will depend on where you live

Deakin University
Why learn a language in Australia today?

SBS
Should learning a second language be compulsory in Australian schools?

Bibliography help

Online resources (Echo ed, Newscan, Australia/NZ Reference Centre and Australia/NZ points of view)

Websites

The Conversation
Climate explained: how much of climate change is natural? How much is man made?

The Nature Conservancy
Climate Change FAQs

United Nations
Climate Action

BBC News
What is Climate change? A really simple guide

Bibliography help