Technology: Unit 2: Research Styles of Fashion

VCAA Study Design

The Product Design Process: Stages and Steps (page 10)

Keep your search terms simple (no sentences, only key words).

Search via the name of your style. 

Exclude words from your search

Put - in front of a word you want to leave out. For example, jaguar speed -car

Search for an exact match

Put a phrase inside quotes to find more accurate results. For example, "60s fashion".

Combine searches - Instead of doing separate searches for similar terms. 

Put "OR" between each search query. For example,  trousers OR pants.

Google search tips

1. Ensure you have a basic understanding of what you are looking for by using REFERENCE INFORMATION to start: 

• Begin by browsing your textbook for styles and designers - take note of the descriptions and detail about the styles you choose (add this to your notes).
• Next use other references resources (Britannica Encyclopedia and Wikipedia: Wikipedia - History of Western Fashion) to build on your notes.

2. Information uploaded by the public, like on Pinterest , Wikipedia, and Youtube, can be great but MUST be cross-referenced with other sources to ensure accuracy.  Sometimes it is difficult to tell the slight differences between styles and decades, and online websites get this wrong too. Always be asking yourself:

• Does this connect with what I already know?

• Have l seen something similar to this before?

• Can I cross reference this information I have already found or information elsewhere?

• If in doubt, check with your teacher or teacher librarian. 

3. Make sure you also browse the amazing Library books available and the websites below too:

	The Vintage Guild of Fashion Make sure you click on the 'read more' button for each article.
	Glamour Daze - Vintage Fashion 1900 to 1969.
	Fashion Institute of Technology (FIT) New York search their museum.
	The V&A is the world’s leading museum of art and design - search the Fashion and Textiles Collection Click on 'More search options' and place the years you are looking for in - E.g. 1960 to 1969. Make sure you have the 'fashion and textiles collection' selected.
	The Metropolitan Museum of Art (MET) New York City - Search the collection

• An outline of Australian Fashion History

Search the Europeana Collections (European fashion)  

• Search the Fashion Collection at Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising (FIDM) Museum and Library.
• LACMA (Los Angeles County Museum of Art) Collection of Fashion
• The KYOTO Costume Institute (Japanese History of Costume) 
• Texas Fashion Collection Scroll down to use the search box.

• Pinterest Collections - 16th -17th 
  Century Fashion
• Pinterest Searches - 60s dress