Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English: Unit 4 : Presenting Argument

Analysing arguments and presenting a point of view

VCAA Descriptor

Presenting argument.  In this area of study students build their understanding of both the analysis and construction of texts that attempt to influence audiences. They use their knowledge of argument and persuasive language as a basis for the development of their own persuasive texts in relation to a topical issue that has appeared in the media since 1 September of the previous year. This area of study focuses on the construction of persuasive texts. Students use their understanding of argument and language as the basis for the development of an oral presentation of their points of view. Students draw on their knowledge to express their viewpoints through arguments and persuasive language selected specifically to position an audience. Students use discussion and writing to clarify their thinking and develop a viewpoint on an issue, to plan and prepare an argument and its supporting evidence, and to develop and prepare any materials to support an oral presentation. Students identify approaches to positioning the audience that are appropriate to the issue. Students also consider how oral conventions may be used to influence the audience and refine these through rehearsal. Students develop, test and practise argument, critically analysing their own developing text. Students reflect on their intentions in positioning the reader and consider how their use of language expresses their argument. They explore options for language use for audience engagement and persuasive effect. They use the conventions of spoken texts appropriately, draw on evidence soundly and include accurate acknowledgment. 

Catherine McAuley College : English Domain Instructions to Students.

1. An oral presentation (Point of View on an issue currently debated in the media) approximately 4-6 minutes duration.

2. A written Intention of approximately 300-500 words in length (please read the Presenting Argument : VCAA English Study Design box for more details.

3. A bibliography must be accompanied listing resources used to construct the point of view. At least one piece of media must be from September 1st, 2018. (See the library staff or libguides page on bibliographies)

4. The final draft of the speech must be submitted on Schoolbox to your English. Plagiarism will be result in possible loss of grades

Presenting Argument : VCAA English Study Design

Outcome 2 Construct a sustained and reasoned point of view on an issue currently debated in the media.

A written statement of intention to accompany the student’s own oral presentation, articulating the intention of decisions made in the planning process, and how these demonstrate understanding of argument and persuasive language.  (10 marks)

A point of view presented in oral form using sound argument and persuasive language. The point of view should relate to an issue that has appeared in the media since 1 September of the previous year. The issue does not have to be the same as the issue selected for study in Outcome 2, Unit 3. (30 marks.)

Instructions on selecting your issue

Image result for instructions

You are to select one issue from the choices on this page:  Pill testing at music festivals, Vegan and animal rights protests, Israel Falou's contract termination by Rugby Australia, Transgender athletes, Equal pay for women, Adani Coal mine, Facial recognition in schools

Each box includes a pdf of sample articles, background information and or suggested links. These resources are for the beginning stage of your research. You should read these and then narrow your point of view based around the selected issue and research further media articles.

Keep in mind that you must write a Statement of Intention outlining your topic, suggested approach, planning process and an understanding of the argument and persuasive language.

Vegan and animal rights protests

Online resources (Echo ed, Newscan, Australia/NZ Reference Centre and Australia/NZ points of view)

Bibliography help

Transgender athletes

Online resources (Echo ed, Newscan, Australia/NZ Reference Centre and Australia/NZ points of view)

Bibliography help

Adani coal mine

Online resources (Echo ed, Newscan, Australia/NZ Reference Centre and Australia/NZ points of view)

Bibliography help

Pill testing at music festivals

Online resources (Echo ed, Newscan, Australia/NZ Reference Centre and Australia/NZ points of view)

Bibliography help

Should there be restrictions placed on fans at sporting events?

Online resources (Echo ed, Newscan, Australia/NZ Reference Centre and Australia/NZ points of view)

Bibliography help

Israel Falou's contract termination by Rugby Australia

Online resources (Echo ed, Newscan, Australia/NZ Reference Centre and Australia/NZ points of view)

Bibliography help

Equal pay for women

Online resources (Echo ed, Newscan, Australia/NZ Reference Centre and Australia/NZ points of view)

Bibliography help

Facial recognition technology in schools

Online resources (Echo ed, Newscan, Australia/NZ Reference Centre and Australia/NZ points of view)

Bibliography help

Should individuals in sports codes be allowed to refuse to sing our National anthem?

Online resources (Echo ed, Newscan, Australia/NZ Reference Centre and Australia/NZ points of view)

Bibliography help