Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English: Point of View

Analysing arguments and presenting a point of view

POV Descriptor

Catherine McAuley College : English Domain Instructions to Students.

1. An oral presentation (Point of View on an issue currently debated in the media) approximately 3-5 minutes duration.

2. A written Intention of approximately 200-300 words in length (please read the Presenting Argument : 

3. A bibliography must be accompanied listing resources used to construct the point of view. At least one piece of media must be from September 1st, 2018. (See the library staff or libguides page on bibliographies)

4. The final draft of the speech must be submitted on Schoolbox to your English Teacher. Plagiarism will result in possible loss of grades

Instructions on selecting your issue

Image result for instructions

You are to select one issue from the choices on this page: Sexism in sport, Coles mini vs plastic ban (sending the wrong message), #MeToo movement - has it gone too far, Driverless vehicles and safety, Food fraud and its dangers, Banning e-cigarettes.

Each box includes a pdf of sample articles, background information and or suggested links. These resources are for the beginning stage of your research. You should read these and then narrow your point of view based around the selected issue and research further media articles.

Keep in mind that you must write a Statement of Intention outlining your topic, suggested approach, planning process and an understanding of the argument and persuasive language.

Should social media platforms be held accountable for user content and actions?

Should Tech and social media firms 'police' content on their site?

Online resources (Echo ed, Newscan, Australia/NZ Reference Centre and Australia/NZ points of view)

Bibliography help

Guide for your oral

Do we need to Increase the Newstart allowance?

What is the impact of modern practices on traditional Indigenous land?

There are many threats that endanger aboriginal peoples land and heritage - are you one of them?

Online resources (Echo ed, Newscan, Australia/NZ Reference Centre and Australia/NZ points of view)

Bibliography help

Climbing Uluru

Previously the traditional owners of Uluru have asked that you respect their law and culture and not climb Uluru, some visitors have chosen not to climb the rock and others have climbed it. From October 2019 visitors to the Uluru will be banned from climbing the rock. 

5 Reasons why you shouldn't climb Uluru

As climb ban approaches, tourists flock to Central Australia to tick risky item off bucket list

Please don't Climb - fact sheet

 

Online resources (Echo ed, Newscan, Australia/NZ Reference Centre and Australia/NZ points of view)

Bibliography help

Microplastics in the Ocean

Our oceans are suffocating with microplastic pollution.

Online resources (Echo ed, Newscan, Australia/NZ Reference Centre and Australia/NZ points of view)

Bibliography help

Should we be culling Kangaroos?

Are Australia's beloved kangaroos a controversial pest?

Online resources (Echo ed, Newscan, Australia/NZ Reference Centre and Australia/NZ points of view)

Bibliography help

Should Health Star ratings on food packaging be mandatory?

Do higher food star ratings always mean healthier?

Online resources (Echo ed, Newscan, Australia/NZ Reference Centre and Australia/NZ points of view)

Bibliography help

Searching via Google

Search for news by keyword, site, or region

You can search for topics and stories on Google News. Use these tips to do advanced searches by region, keyword, and publication. 

Quick search

  1. Go to news.google.com.
  2. In the search bar at the top, enter what you're interested in finding.

You can also search by categories, region, date, and website.

In the search bar, enter your search terms, followed by location:countryname. For example: elections location:France

  1. Go to google.com.
  2. Enter a search term.
  3. To see news results, click the "News" tab.
  4. To see search options, click Tools.
  5. Next to "Recent," click the Down arrow Down Arrow.
  6. Select a timeframe or enter a custom date range.
  • To search for words in the headline, use allintitle:keyword. For example: allintitle:elections
  • To search for words in the body text, use allinbody:keyword. For example: allinbody:schools
  • To search for words in the URL, use allinurl:keyword. For example: allinurl:politics
  • To search on a specific news site, use site:sitename. For example, site:reuters.com
  • To search a specific keyword, use site:sitename keyword. For example: site:nytimes.com Olympics
  • To search only specific sources, use source:publicationname. For example: source:BBC. For sources with more than one word, use quotation marks. For example: source:"The Guardian"