Skip to main content

Catherine McAuley College: Online Resources

Welcome to your digital library

How to log in

All the databases and encyclopaedias will log you in automatically when at school. If you are trying to log in from home then you will need a username and password. The Username for all the above resources is cmclib. (Except for Aust/NZ Reference Centre and Aust/NZ Points of View where the username is cmclib1.)

Please ask a library staff member for the password.

Science in Context

Science in Context is for those seeking background information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. An authoritative reference centre combining full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to quality websites.

Australasian Science

Australasian Science is Australia’s longest-running scientific publication. It has been Australia’s authority on science since 1938 when it was first published as The Australian Journal of Science by the Australian National Research Council, which was the forerunner of the Australian Academy of Science. The journal has evolved considerably over the past seven decades. Now published as Australasian Science, it is Australia’s only monthly science magazine, and the only magazine that is dedicated to Australian and New Zealand science.

Search for back issues when online.

Virtual Reference Library: Non-fiction eBooks

A collection of Non-Fiction eBooks research. 

EBSCO - Aust/NZ Reference Centre

How to search for a Magazine Video

Login : Username = cmclib1 Password (Please see library staff)

Designed for libraries in Australia, this resource provides an extensive collection of full text from leading regional and international periodicals, full-text reference books, tens of thousands of full-text biographies, and a collection of images containing more than one million photos and maps.

Catering to the Research Needs of Australia and New Zealand

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre provides full text for leading Australia/New Zealand magazines including Architecture Australia, Australian Geographic, Australian House & GardenAustralian Women's Weekly, Belle, BusiDate, Cleo, Dolly, Ecodate, Geodate, Good Health, Inside Rugby, Money Australia, Nutridate, NW, Women's Day Australia, and many more.

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre also provides full text for many leading Australia/New Zealand newspapers and newswires including The Australian (National), The Daily Telegraph (Sydney), The Sunday Herald Sun (Melbourne).

Periodicals (Newspapers)

For more information visit our dedicated News resources on our LibGuide page: In The News


 

Aust/NZ Points of View

Logon: Username = cmclib1. Password (Please see a library staff member)

Containing resources that present multiple sides of a current issue—including information on key topics of interest to Australia/New Zealand researchers—this database provides rich content that can help students realise and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills.

Resources for Critical Analysis

Australia/New Zealand Points of View Reference Centre over 150 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Centre

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.

Reference Information

Online Dictionaries

It is important to define the terms of your research question or topic BEFORE you begin any serious research. 


Encyclopaedia Britannica

How to use Britannica Video

Country Reports.org 

Use this site to find information about a country. From Home you will need to login with Username : ccblib. Please see library staff for the password.

Global Issues in Context

Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issues specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.

History in Context

World History in Context is for those seeking background information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. Find authoritative reference content including full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to quality websites.

Health and Wellness Centre

Health & Wellness Resource Center offers access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more.

Great for researchers at all levels, this database provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.