Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Humanities: History: Australia & World War II

Task Information

Bibliography Info

Under the Research Tools tab above you will find detailed information about creating your bibliography and information about selecting reliable websites to collect information from. 

Bibliography

1. Credible / reliable sources

2. At least 3 sources

3. Arranged alphabetically

4. Numbered

5. Correct referencing format  

Quick Reliability Check

When evaluating a website:

PURPOSE - Why do you think the information has been published? Who is the intended audience?

AUTHORITY - Can you identify the author? Are they an expert in the area they are writing about? 

CURRENCY - When was the information published or last updated?

RELIABILITY - From answering the above questions: Can you trust the information here? 

Resources in the Library

There are many printed resources relevant to Australia and World War 2 in the Library. Here is just a selection.

Australian POW Nurses of the Japanese

 Australian Nurses in Singapore 

Search Terms
POW or Prisoners of war, Nurses, Japanese, Australian, Vyner Brooke (ship name).  

 

Books: Find books on your topic in either Crate 3 or 10 in the Resources Room of the Library

 

Websites 

Australian Army Nurses
http://www.battleforaustralia.org/Theyalsoserved/AustArmNurses.html 

Australia's War 1939-1945: Found
http://www.ww2australia.gov.au/behindwire/found.html 

Australian War Memorial: Capt. Vivian Bullwinkel (biography)
http://www.awm.gov.au/people/1906.asp 
http://www.awm.gov.au/exhibitions/fiftyaustralians/5.asp 

Vivian Bullwinkel
http://www.angellpro.com.au/Bullwinkel.htm
Scroll down to 'Prisoner of War Days'

A Woman's War: Wilma Oram Young
http://www.angellpro.com.au/oram.htm 
Scroll down two thirds of the page to Wilma's experience in the camps.  

 

Videos 

Nurse Pat Darling Interview (Fast forward to 2 mins in)
http://www.pows-of-japan.net/videos/patdarling.php?vid=GlsGObhL3ao&num=4_of_7 
Pat survived the Vyner Brook then became a POW for 42 months. There are 7 parts. 2 minutes into Part 4 and continuing into Part 5 Pat talks about daily life in the camp. Part 5 

 

Newspaper Articles

Japanese Massacre of Australian Nurses escaping in Feburary, 1942
http://trove.nla.gov.au/ndp/del/article/2644304 

 

PM Menzies as he prepares to declare war

 

Books: Find books on your topic in either Crate 3 or 10 in the Resources Room of the Library.

 

Websites

Menzie's Speech: Declaration of War (Audio with information)
http://aso.gov.au/titles/radio/menzies-speech-declaration-war/clip1/ 

Australia at War 3 September 1939
http://www.ww2australia.gov.au/wardeclared/ 

Australian Dictionary of Biography: Sir Robert Gordon Menzies 
http://adb.anu.edu.au/biography/menzies-sir-robert-gordon-bob-11111 

TROVE Newspaper Archive 
http://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper
Find newspaper articles from the time Menzies declared war by selecting the Year '1939', the month 'September' and the day '3' or after.

National Library of Australia: TROVE

Use TROVE to find information about your topic, includes both primary and secondary sources. 

TROVE divides results into newspapers, books, pictures, music, maps, diaries, websites and people. 

 

.

Historical Context Weapons / Equipment Terms

Below are some links to pages with information about the exact weapons and equipment used during WW2. You may wish to incorporate some of these details into your story. 

Night Resources

Please go to the following page for information and resources for Night inspiration - here.

Australian Soldiers in Kokoda

 

Books: Find books on your topic in either Crate 3 or 10 in the Resources Room of the Library

 

Websites


The Kokoda Track
(Excellent resource: Has personal reflections, footage, statistics, animations etc)


(State Library of Victoria: primary source material and links to other sites)

Australia's War 1939-1945 : Kokoda

 

Videos

Kokoda - Front Line

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7WZURx5w0Ps

Resident of Darwin during the Japanese bombing

 

Books: Find books on your topic in either Crate 3 or 10 in the Resources Room of the Library

 

Websites

National Archives of Australia: Bombing of Darwin Fact Sheet
http://www.naa.gov.au/collection/fact-sheets/fs195.aspx

Battle for Australia: The Bombing of Darwin
http://www.battleforaustralia.org.au/2901/Overview/Bombing_Darwin/

Australian Government: Darwin Bombings Remembered 68 years on  
http://pandora.nla.gov.au/pan/38439/20101028-0833/minister.dva.gov.au/media_releases/2010/feb/va006.pdf  

 

Videos

Bombing of Darwin

 
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OzCb86C2O0s

 

Battle for Darwin (ABC report which includes actual veteran comments (Japanese and Australian)

  
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W8g9Ka8hCJk

As a 19-year-old Basil Stahl was based at Darwin's Larrekeyah Barracks with the Army Survey Corps on the day of the first bombing of the NT capital on February 19, 1942. Here the former Sapper shares his recollections of that fateful day when he rushed to take photos of the raid, not knowing that a second attack was coming.

Filming the bombing of Darwin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LIn695k9QiU

For footage of the actual bombing, we rely on the films of amateur filmmakers who were stationed in Darwin at the time. They also took in scenes of destruction, filmed once the danger had passed. Though mostly black and white, faded, scratched and lacking a sound track, the films clearly convey the devastating effects of the attacks : masses of smoke rise against a clear sky, out of which a shot fighter plane drops to earth; ships stream plumes of smoke, and the wreckage of homes is clearly seen.

Here are a few selections from the Memorial's film collection of Darwin in 1942.

 

Nurses Documents